top of page

Thank You to our Conference Sponsor Avenza Maps

The 2021 Site Steward Program Conference:
Keeping Sight and Honoring Tribal Perspective

The 2021 Site Steward Annual Conference was held October 29th-31st at the Double Tree by Hilton Hotel in Tempe Arizona. Along with great sessions and an overflowing award lunch we had a chance to reconnect in person.  Thanks to everyone who attended.


To recap; the annual SSP Conference provided excellent training through workshops and activities for our volunteer Site Stewards. In this conference we recognized and celebrated the great work that all Stewards and Land Managers do for the preservation of cultural resources in the southwest. While the focus is on the program's volunteers, and partnering land managers, the conference also welcomes members of the public who are involved in cultural resources and Arizona's 22 Native American tribes.

Our 2021 Awardees are:

Outstanding Site Steward of the Year: Barbara Marcel

Outstanding New Site Steward of the Year: Doug Page

Regional Coordinator of the Year: Jenny Anderson

Assistant Regional Coordinator of the Year: Kim Gilles

Regional Support Steward of the Year: Judy Stoycheff

Land Manager of the Year: Courtney Rose

Thief of Time Award: Larry Bourne and Foster Knutson

Dwight Riggs Memorial Mentoring Award: Douglas Newton

Appreciation & Special Award Winners: Carlos Ramirez, Elliott Thompson, Mike Savala

Law Enforcement-Special Recognition Award: Rob Vaitkus, Dusty Whiting

Shelly Rasmussen Volunteer Hours Award: Jim Herrewig

Site Steward Program TEAM Award: Agua Fria Region Leadership Team

A big thank you to the following people and businesses who donated to our Silent Auction.  We raised $2,570 from your generosity.  Thank you to all who bid on items and congratulations to all our winning bidders who got some great deals and awesome pieces. Thank you:

Chris Tetzloff, Debbie Danowski, Luke Edens, Michael Hoogendyk, Arizona Restaurant Association, Keith Hollinger, Eva Brumberger, Marie Davis, Van Newville, Pamela Kalish, Richard Rogers, Neil Weintraub, Paddi Mozilo, First Watch Restaurants, The Phoenix Suns, True Ranch Collections/White Stallion Ranch, The Wigwam Resort/Katy Powers, Jenny and Dick Anderson, Tom Crager, Arizona Cardinals, Shirley A. Lowman, Desert Botanical Gardens, Arizona Opera, Martha Shickley, Hyatt Regency Phoenix and Shelley Rassmussen

And a special thank you to Hopi Artist, Duane Koyawena,

who designed the new Site Steward shirts for 2021. Some

of you know Duane from his art work -anytime a SSP

member has reached 20-years in the program they are

awarded a beautiful print made by Duane.  It was an honor

to work with Duane to offer something new to our members.



Next year's conference will be in historic Yuma Arizona! Watch this site for more information.......




2022 AZ Site Steward Program T-Shirt

Thank you for attending our   conference!

bottom of page