# Arizona Site Steward Program 2022 Volunteer Preservation Awards

Winners selected for this year's awards will be honored at the Site Steward Program's Annual Conference in Yuma during our special awards luncheon on October 21, 2022

#### **AWARDEES**

Outstanding New Site Steward of the Year: George Nelsen, Flagstaff Region

Regional Coordinator of the Year: Newt Ashby, Tucson Region

Assistant Regional Coordinator of the Year: Gene & Linda Rohn, Lake Havasu Region

Regional Support Steward of the Year: Tom Crager, Lake Havasu Region

Land Manager of the Year: Katherine Shaum, Tonto NF

Thief of Time Award: Douglas Newton, Central/Tonopah Regions

# **Appreciation and Special Awards Winners:**

Jewel Touchin, Logan Simpson
Patricia McCabe, Logan Simpson
Keith Hollinger, Salt River Region & SSP Foundation Board Member
Rick Ruess and Diana Henry, Flagstaff Region

Shelley Rasmussen Volunteer Hours Award: Robert Mark, Flagstaff Region

Field Trainer of the Year Award: Scott Wood, Archaeologist, retired \*Tonto NF

## Site Steward Team of the Year: (Two Team Winners)

Robert Mark & Evelyn Billo, Flagstaff Region The Saguaro National Park East Team, Tucson Region



## 2022 Governor's Heritage Preservation Honor Awards

It is my pleasure to inform Site Steward Program members and partner Land Managers that Stewards **Gordon & Linda Hanson** of the Tucson Region, and **Robert Mark & Evelyn Billo** of the Flagstaff Region were selected to receive a **2022 Governor's Heritage Preservation Honor Award.** These individuals will be honored at a special evening reception on Thursday, October 20 at the Yuma Art Center & Historic Yuma Theatre during the 2022 Arizona Historic Preservation Conference.