Arizona Site Steward Awards

The Arizona Site Steward program was developed by Governor Bruce Babbitt and his Archaeological Advisory Commission using volunteers dedicated to protecting and preserving cultural resources and the heritage of Arizona through site monitoring and reporting.

AWARDEES

Outstanding Site Steward of the Year: Barbara Marcel

Outstanding New Site Steward of the Year: Doug Page (AZ Strip)

Regional Coordinator of the Year: Jenny Anderson

Assistant Regional Coordinator of the Year: Kim Gilles

Regional Support Steward of the Year: Judy Stoycheff

Land Manager of the Year: Courtney Rose

Thief of Time Award: Larry Bourne & Foster Knutson

Dwight Riggs Memorial Mentoring Award: Douglas Newton

Appreciation and Special Awards Winners: Carlos Ramirez, Elliott Thompson, Mike Savala

Law Enforcement - Special Recognition Award: Rob Vaitkus, Dusty Whiting

Shelley Rasmussen Volunteer Hours Award: Jim Herrewig

Governor's Heritage Preservation Honor Awards

Since 1982, the Arizona Preservation Foundation and Arizona State Historic Preservation Office/Arizona State Parks have collaborated to present the Governor's Heritage Preservation Honor Awards. These awards recognize people, organizations, and projects that represent outstanding achievements in preserving Arizona's prehistoric and historic resources.

The mission of the Governor's Heritage Preservation Honor Awards is to:

Promote public awareness of historic preservation in the State of Arizona;

 Publicly recognize the varied contributions by volunteers, professionals, organizations, and agencies to promote the goals of historic preservation; • Identify and recognize educational, community, non-profit, and private sector heritage projects that demonstrate excellence in design and execution.

AWARDEES

Florence Historic Structure Report Project

Arizona Project Archaeology Investigating Shelter Video Project

Charles T. Hayden House Rehabilitation, Tempe

Laurene G. Montero Professional Archaeologist

Phoenix Ethnic Heritage Story Maps

Washington-Escobedo Heritage Neighborhood, Mesa

Charles Eatherly Lifetime Achievement

Cottonwood Civic Center Rehabilitation Project

Lisa Deem Elden Pueblo Project

Superstition Meadery Rehabilitation Project, Phoenix

JAMES W. GARRISON GRAND AWARD WINNER

The Grand Award Winner is selected from the 2021 awardees, announced at the close of the ceremony.